Random Thoughts

What Could Have been Better in 2gether the Series and Still 2gether?

After more than a decade long being an avid Korean drama’s fan, it’s only recently that I am beginning to get enticed by Thailand series (or lakorn). My first Thailand show ever was the highly-recognized Crazy Little Thing Called Love (2010), a very cute but also heart-wrenching coming-of-age movie about dealing with your high school crush and the heartbreak. Ten years later, I came across a truly endearing lakorn My Forever Sunshine (2020), a series adapted from a novel of the same title about a spoiled little girl and her forever sunshine that helped her grow into a much better person. Nonetheless, it had never occurred to me that I would also enjoy the genre of BL (boys’ love) until I discovered this particular series. I got hooked right off the bat, mainly also because of Bright and Win’s persona. 2gether the series (2020) and Still 2gether (2020) weren’t the best series by any means, but it was said to be a cute reliever during the beginning of the COVID-19 pandemic.

After watching the series and reading the novel, I would say that I really love them as a whole. Bright’s sexy stares were all lustful to my eyes and his face alone is a work of art which God had carefully handcrafted. Win also fascinated me for the fact that it’s possible for a big-build guy to look soo fragile and adorable in the eyes of a man who loves him. Their popularity as an individual and even a couple skyrocketed soon after and it doesn’t help that they have had plentiful events together and still maintain good friendship with each other. I can only see them as Bright Vachirawin and WIn Metawhipped, and never try to convince me otherwise. :))

I’m not going to write a long detailed review on the series as a whole, but I made a thread on Reddit about things that could have been better for the improvement of the series. Some comments were so on point that I thought I should share it here.

I am sharing some of the thought-provoking comments down below. Beware of all the spoilers you may find at your own risk.

In case you’re wondering, I’m also attaching the said gifs.

Animated GIF - Find & Share on GIPHY
Animated GIF - Find & Share on GIPHY

Putting all the chemistry thing aside, never would I have thought that I would encounter a comment on Ji Sung-Jin Young’s hard-carried chemistry in Devil Judge (2021) in the BL category.

At the end of the day, please take all comments with a grain of salt. Opinions differ all te time and it’s a normal thing. I didn’t overlook all the flaws I discovered during my binge-watching experience, but it didn’t make me hate the show at all because I wanted to appreciate the show as a whole despite its lackluster elements.

The series remain a cutie pie to bite when you’re having a bad day, or just when you need a good laugh. They have easy-listening OSTs too and, hey, Bright would make a great musician! I am sold to SCRUBB’s music too and keep the playlist on going whilst waiting for my own Sarawat to find me.

GRADE

8,5/10

Leave a comment